7 Comments

Excuses, Excuses and Blog Award Time!

This is the blog entry in which I explain my absence in a mature and logical manner.

In other words, blame this completely fictional character I drew after church a couple of weeks ago!

Boy with a tambourine shouting "Usta!"

Text courtesy of my sister.

Okay, in all seriousness, I’m sorry for dropping the ball like that.  I definitely did not mean to delay my posts for this long.  It was extremely lazy of me, and in all honesty, I don’t have a good excuse for it, save for work and, for the past week, family vacation.

Now, to cover two tidbits of news.

  1. I recently took advantage of my student status and bought a package of art and web design programs from Adobe.  As you can probably tell from my blog’s new banner, I’ve been playing around with them a bit.  These programs will definitely give me more to work with for future projects.
  2. Before I can get back to the good ol’ geeky articles, I need to fill out a couple of postponed surveys.  One is for deviantART; the other for here on WordPress.  So without further ado, let’s get the WordPress one out of the way.

Versatile Blogger Award… Oh the Irony

Thanks to Steve of Naturally Uncanny Reviews, I was nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award over a month ago.  The rules for the VBA are as follows:

  1. Thank the person who gave you this award. That’s common courtesy.
  2. Include a link to their blog. That’s also common courtesy — if you can figure out how to do it.
  3. Next, select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly. ( I would add, pick blogs or bloggers that are excellent!)
  4. Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award — you might include a link to this site.
  5. Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

Sounds a lot like the questionnaires that I and my friends have been tagged with a lot on deviantART, but heck, it’s fun to do something a little different for a change, right?  Here goes.

  1. I have always been an avid reader.  I mean, don’t get me wrong, I still played games and stuff like a regular kid.  Sad truth is, though, when you live four miles outside of the tiniest of rural towns, there just isn’t that much to do.  Books like those of the Magic Tree House and Harry Potter series served as a window into fantastical new worlds as well as gave me a small peek into the world outside rural Nebraska.
  2. I don’t know if this has come across at all in my posts, but I have been an anime fan for a long time.  In fact, half a year ago I discovered that I had sampled the drug that is anime far earlier than I had originally thought.  It was neither Sailor Moon nor Yu-Gi-Oh! that got me hooked, but a single video tape of Grimm’s Fairy Tale Classics that I received when I was around five or six years old.  Up to that point, I hadn’t realized that Grimm’s Fairy Tale Classics was even an anime.  Unfortunately, I believe I gave my mom the OK to sell it at a garage sale years ago due to the witch of Hansel and Gretel scaring the crap out of me.
  3. While the obscure Grimm’s Fairy Tale Classics introduced me to anime, Yu-Gi-Oh! pulled me into the world of manga and serious comics as a whole.  Of course, being a fifth grader at the time, I thought the first volume would be filled with the corniness and card games I’d grown to know in the TV show.  Talk about whiplash.
  4. Even though I really love video games, I am relatively new to the medium.  My siblings and I had shared a Game Boy Color, but it wasn’t until our parents relented and bought us a PlayStation 2 about five years ago that I really realized just how great video games are.  As of now, I own a GameBoy Advance SP and a Nintendo 3DS.  Our family still has a PS2 that my little brother monopolizes for the most part, and someday, I want to obtain a PS3 in order to play Tales of Graces f and Tales of Xillia.
  5. My class of choice in Team Fortress 2 is the Pyro.  (Yeah, I know, Pyro strategy=W+M1.  Stop making fun of me!)
  6. I make weird faces when I’m drawing comics and when I’m playing Team Fortress 2.  …Yeah, it’s just as embarrassing as it sounds.
  7. When I’m having difficulty drawing a character in a certain pose, I will often grab a friend or relative close to me and have him or her serve as a model until I am satisfied with my results.  This is useful (and entertaining) for me.  For the poor guy/gal roped into it…not so much.

Now for the nominees.  Like Steve of NUR, I will only nominate five bloggers for the award.  Along with listing the names of their blogs, I will also throw in my two cents as to why everyone reading absolutely must give their posts a read.

  1. Allyson Pelchat - The go-to blogger for excellent photography.  Seriously, she is going places.  I don’t care if photography isn’t your thing, you need to go look at her stuff now!
  2. Disney – the Dettol of Storytelling? - Want to know how Disney’s retellings of fairy tales and the like compare to their original sources?  This is the blog for you.  The articles are lengthy and in-depth, so if you have the time to sit down and read them, you won’t be disappointed.  (Now if only I could figure out the right way to list her username.  “DettolDisney”?  “Okapina”?  Uh…)
  3. Lifetime Gamer - A good source for video game news and reviews.  I especially appreciate that his reviews are pretty balanced, neither overly negative nor overly positive when it isn’t necessary.
  4. The Cajun Samurai – Want to know if a certain anime series is worth watching?  Chances are the two writers of this blog – The Cajun Samurai and otakuandrain - can answer that for you.  They write excellent reviews for a broad range of genres for this medium.
  5. 5iberian – An artist who really needs more attention.  Her character designs are great and definitely worth viewing.

I’m afraid to say I must end this on a bit of a rushed note.  I need to get ready for work, and it’s absolutely imperative for me to get this post up now.  You know, before anyone thinks I died or something.

Next post will come either late on Saturday or on Sunday with a much-needed progress report concerning my projects.

7 comments on “Excuses, Excuses and Blog Award Time!

  1. Wow, thanks so much for mentioning my blog here :) It’s much appreciated!

  2. REALLY?!?! You nominated me!? Thank you so much!!! I’m truly honored that you thought of my humble blog for this award! This is the first time “The Cajun Samurai” has won…well…ANYTHING! Again, thank you so much! I got to run to work myself, but you best believe I will work on my nominations!

  3. Thanks for the nomination! :D Just so you are aware I’ve nominated you too. Love your sketches :)

  4. My turn for a thank you!! Thanks for the sweet mention Holly! I am completely honored! You made my day!:)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers

