Leave a comment

Doodlefest!

Character sketches

These are a few character sketches I drew over the past seven days.  For those of you who actually wonder what the heck goes on inside a kooky artist’s head, I’ll take a minute to say a few things about each sketch.

Starting at the top, we have a very rough, half-finished sketch of Tear Grants from Tales of the Abyss singing along to the melody of the ocarina being played by Link, the famous silent protagonist of The Legend of Zelda series.  At the beginning of the week, I wanted to draw something special to honor the release of Tales of the Abyss for the Nintendo 3DS.  I initially thought drawing a full-page image of the game’s heroine having a musical duet with Link would be a good idea, seeing that The Legend of Zelda:  Ocarina of Time 3D is a well-known port for the system and both games have strong ties to music.  I later realized that many games have ports for the 3DS and, therefore, just drawing Link with Tear would not clearly symbolize Tales of the Abyss‘s arrival on the same system.  I still love the idea of drawing the two creating music together, just not at a time when I feel so rushed.

The guy randomly pointing at Tear’s foot is a character for a comic I am creating.  Gavin sounds like a good name for him, so let’s call him that for now.  I actually sketched the framework for his body last Saturday, when I noticed my brother slouching in a chair pointing at the computer screen and decided to make him a model.  I forced him to hold the pose for at least five minutes until I was certain I had gotten the pose right.  (Poor thing.)  I went in and added all the extra details, such as the lazily-drawn chair, later.  When I started sketching in Tear and Link a few days ago, I noticed that I had unwittingly put Tear’s foot in front of Gavin’s pointer finger.  Now Gavin looks especially excited about pointing out a foot to the viewer.  Thank you, Gavin.

Next to Gavin, yet another Tales of the Abyss/LoZ:  OoT crossover occurs as the two games’ mascots, Mieu and Navi, meet.  Mieu attempts to play the ocarina.  Navi thinks Link plays it better. Much better.

I don’t have much to say about the little girl on the far left.  I just felt like drawing something cute, I guess.  I do like her ponytail, though.

The Legend of Zelda © Nintendo.
Tales of the Abyss © Namco Bandai.
The Gepetto Project © Holly A. Wolfe.
Artwork created by Holly A. Wolfe.

Leave a Reply

