2 Comments

Arguing with Myself

Since Alma and Gavin’s story is still in the planning stage, and seeing as how it will most likely be part of a larger project, I’m debating over whether or not to start out with a series of smaller stories first.

I have heard that writers and comic artists recommend starting with smaller stories, and I already have other characters and stories figured out for a smaller comic series.

The stories I have in mind are short segments that contain alternate retellings and combinations of fairy tales.  While each story is meant to stand on its own, I intend to leave the possibility open for the characters of each story to meet one another and set off on a larger adventure should I ever have the opportunity to go back and continue their tale.

Once again, I am not giving up on the story of Alma, Gavin, and Sibylla.  I just need more time to develop their comic and feel I can do so while partaking in a smaller project at the same time.  Plus, I can use this time to polish my art skills in preparation for a project that I want to do my absolute best at.

To those of you who have been reading my posts, what do you think?  Your input would be much appreciated.

Character and Artwork © Holly A. Wolfe.

2 comments on “Arguing with Myself

  1. I don’t know if I am in any way qualified to give my opinion on the matter, but since you did ask, I will say that usually I jump into a story head first, and then regret it. If you would like really consistant characters, I would say writing/drawing a few short stories to get a feel for them is a wonderful idea.

    • Thanks for your advice. The short comics I have in mind aren’t based on these characters, per say, but I could definitely do extra drawings of them to get a better feel of who they are as well as the world they live in.

Leave a Reply

