Leave a comment

The Art of Butchering Trees

A beat-up tree and a rabbit

What with WordPress being temperamental and today being the day of my sister’s prom, it’s been difficult to get this post up.  Sorry for the lateness of it.

This was drawn yesterday during my composition class.  Basically, the thought that sparked this drawing was, “Hey, I’m always drawing people.  Why don’t I draw something else for once?”  Hence why today’s sketch is an attempt at drawing a tree, or half of one to be more specific.  It could have been a lot worse, but it could have been a lot better as well.

At the last minute, I tried to throw in a rabbit to make the piece more interesting, but instead I ended up with a weird bunny/bear hybrid.

Furry animal

Yeah, I don’t know, either.

Moral of today’s story?  When all else fails, use visual references for things you aren’t as familiar with.

Illustrations © Holly A. Wolfe.

Leave a Reply

