Leave a comment

Writer’s Journal #2: Those Hipster Textbooks

This winter interim, I am taking a political economics course.  I know it sounds like a drag, but it actually isn’t that bad if you keep up with the reading and the occasional written assignments.

One of the books we have to read, however, is equally hilarious and obnoxious.

The aforementioned book, Introduction to Political Economy, has been…interesting, to say the least.

The writers of this book seem really bent on convincing readers that capitalism is the work of the devil, and while it probably sounds like I’m exaggerating, I assure you that that statement is at least 90 percent accurate.  Sackrey, Schneider, and Knoedler make it no secret where their opinion of  our current economy lies, and boy do they bash you over the head with it.  I swear, these three preach more than our pastor does on Sunday mornings.  It makes even their more plausible arguments hard to swallow.

I realize that not all scholarly texts can be written in a purely objective manner – such is the reason why persuasive essays and the like exist – but I feel that at least a little bit of objectivity is required in order to maintain a sense of credibility.  And do you know what demolishes that credibility in a heartbeat?

Unnecessarily italicized words.

When writing a scholarly document that you want others to take seriously, italicizing anything that isn’t another work’s name is a huge no-no.  (And so is using the term “no-no,” but I can get away with it here because this is a casual blog.)  Along with writing words in all caps, it is akin to a teenager trying to show the folks that he or she is a perfectly mature adult by yelling and slamming doors:  it is done on the assumption that obvious emphasis always gets people what they want, and it often backfires.

For this book, I could start a drinking game based on how many times words are italicized solely for emphasis.  I can’t actually follow through with it, however, because I’m one year shy of the legal drinking age.  Also, I’d most likely die by the end of the first chapter.

Yeah.  It’s that bad.

Anywho, I’ve griped for long enough.  I suppose I should get to the part where I explain what turns all of this around and makes it funny.

What cracks me up is this:  Introduction to Political Economy actually throws the term “mainstream economics” around.

Well now I know why this book is so opinionated all the time.  It’s in its teenage hipster phase!

Hipster Economics book 001

I know, I know, mainstream economics actually refers to commonly-accepted economic theory, but doggone it, I just can’t help it!  I’m a college student who spends plenty of leisure time on the Internet, so I’m fully aware of the oxymoron that is the mainstream hipster.  Every time that phrase pops up in  the text, I can’t help but snicker a little.  The book being a hipster would explain so much!

All in all, I can’t wait to be done with this book.  After our interim is over, I’ll be able to start on the fun stuff.

Namely, my required reading for the class Comics and the Graphic Novel.

Aw yeah!

Aw yeah!

Art and Photography © Holly Wolfe

Leave a Reply

